

COUNCIL MEETING TUESDAY, 24 NOVEMBER 2020

MINUTES SUMMARY

MANSFIELD SHIRE COUNCIL

Livestreamed to members of the public via the Mansfield Shire Council website 5.00pm

CONTENTS

1.	OPENING OF THE MEETING	2
2.	ACTING CHAIRPERSON	2
<i>3</i> .	CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S REPORT	2
<i>4</i> .	DISCLOSURE OF CONFLICTS OF INTEREST	2
<i>5</i> .	DETERMINATION OF MAYORAL TERM	3
6.	ELECTION OF MAYOR	3
<i>7</i> .	ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR	3
8.	COUNCILLOR APPOINTED REPRESENTATION ON COMMITTEES	4
9.	SCHEDULE OF COUNCIL MEETINGS	6
<i>10</i> .	CHRISTMAS / NEW YEAR OFFICE CLOSURE	7
11.	SUCH OTHER BUSINESS ADMITTED BY THE UNANIMOUS RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL	7
<i>12</i> .	MEETING CLOSE	7



MINUTES SUMMARY

MANSFIELD SHIRE COUNCIL

Livestreamed to members of the public via the Mansfield Shire Council website 5.00pm

1. OPENING OF THE MEETING

The Chief Executive Officer opened the meeting at 5.01 pm.

In attendance:

Cr Mark Holcombe

Cr Steve Rabie

Cr Paul Sladdin

Cr James Tehan

Cr Rohan Webb

Chief Executive Officer:

General Manager Infrastructure and Planning:

General Manager Community and Corporate Services:

Coordinator Governance and Risk:

Kaylene Conrick

Kirsten Alexander

Chris Snook

Michelle Kain

2. ACTING CHAIRPERSON

The Chief Executive Officer affirmed the "Acknowledgement of Country" for the Mansfield Shire Council:

"Our meeting is being held on the lands of the Taungurung people and we wish to acknowledge them as Traditional Owners. We would also like to pay our respects to their Elders, past and present, and Aboriginal Elders of other communities who may be here today."

3. CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S REPORT

In accordance with the Mansfield Shire Council Governance Rules 2020, the Chief Executive Officer was appointed as a temporary Chair with no voting rights to deal with:

- the receipt of nominations for the election of the Mayor; and
- the election of the Mayor

4. DISCLOSURE OF CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Nil.



5. DETERMINATION OF MAYORAL TERM

Councillors Holcombe/Tehan:

THAT COUNCIL:

- 1. determines the length of the Mayoral term to be a period of one year.
- 2. determines the next Mayoral election be held at the scheduled meeting of Council in November 2021.

Carried

6. ELECTION OF MAYOR

Cr James Tehan nominated Cr Mark Holcombe for the position of Mayor. Cr Steve Rabie seconded the nomination with Cr Holcombe duly accepting the nomination.

Councillors Tehan/Rabie:

THAT COUNCIL, pursuant to the provisions of sections 25 and 26 of the *Local Government Act 2020*, appoints Cr Mark Holcome as Mayor of Mansfield Shire for a term no later than the first scheduled meeting of November 2021.

Carried

The Mayor assumed the Chair at 5.07pm.

Mayor Cr Holcombe provided his first Mayoral speech.

7. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Cr Mark Holcombe nominated Cr James Tehan for the position of Deputy Mayor. Cr Rohan Webb seconded the nomination with Cr Tehan duly accepting the nomination.

Councillors Holcombe/Webb:

THAT COUNCIL appoints Cr James Tehan as Deputy Mayor of Mansfield Shire for a term no later than the first scheduled meeting of November 2021.



8. COUNCILLOR APPOINTED REPRESENTATION ON COMMITTEES

1. Mansfield Shire Audit and Risk Committee

Councillors Sladdin/Rabie:

THAT COUNCIL nominates the following Councillors to the Mansfield Shire Audit and Risk Committee:

- 1. Mayor Cr Mark Holcombe
- 2. Cr Rohan Webb

Carried

2. Mansfield Shire Business and Community Recovery Advisory Committee

Councillors Webb/Tehan:

THAT COUNCIL nominates the following Councillors to the Mansfield Shire Business and Community Recovery Advisory Committee:

- 1. Mayor Cr Mark Holcombe
- 2. Cr Paul Sladdin

Carried

3. Chief Executive Officer Performance and Remuneration Reference and Advisory Group

Councillors Rabie/Sladdin:

THAT COUNCIL appoints the following Councillors to the Chief Executive Officer Performance and Remuneration Reference and Advisory Group:

- Mayor Cr Mark Holcombe
- Cr James Tehan
- Cr Rohan Webb
- Cr Paul Sladdin
- Cr Steve Rabie



8. COUNCILLOR REPRESENTATION ON COMMITTEES CONT.

The following external committees require the appointment of a Councillor representative:

i. Australia Day Awards Committee

Councillors Tehan/Webb:

THAT COUNCIL nominates Mayor Cr Mark Holcombe, Cr James Tehan and Cr Steve Rabie to the Australia Day Awards Committee.

Carried

ii. Goulburn Broken Greenhouse Alliance (GBGA)

Councillors Tehan/Rabie:

THAT COUNCIL nominates Cr Rohan Webb to the Goulburn Broken Greenhouse Alliance (GBGA).

Carried

iii. Hume Regional Local Government Network (HRLGN)

Councillors Webb/Tehan:

THAT COUNCIL nominates Mayor Cr Mark Holcombe to the Hume Regional Local Government Network (HRLGN).

Carried

iv. Lake Eildon Land and On Water Management Plan Implementation Committee

Councillors Tehan/Rabie:

THAT COUNCIL nominates Cr Paul Sladdin to the Lake Eildon Land and On Water Management Plan Implementation Committee.

Carried

v. Municipal Association of Victoria

Councillors Sladdin/Webb:

THAT COUNCIL:

- appoints Mayor Cr Mark Holcombe to the Municipal Association of Victoria (MAV).
- 2. appoints Deputy Mayor Cr James Tehan as substitute Council representative to the MAV.



- 8. COUNCILLOR REPRESENTATION ON COMMITTEES CONT.
- vi. North East Local Government Waste Forum (a Committee of the North East Regional Waste and Resource Recovery Group NEWRRG)

Councillors Webb/Sladdin:

THAT COUNCIL nominates Cr Steve Rabie to the North East Local Government Waste Forum (a Committee of the North East Regional Waste and Resource Recovery Group – NEWRRG).

Carried

vii. Rural Councils Victoria (RCV)

Councillors Rabie/Tehan:

THAT COUNCIL nominates Mayor Cr Mark Holcombe to Rural Councils Victoria (RCV).

Carried

9. SCHEDULE OF COUNCIL MEETINGS

Councillors Webb/Sladdin:

THAT COUNCIL adopts the following meeting schedule from December 2020 to November 2021:

DATE	LOCATION	TIME
15 December 2020	Mansfield Shire Council Chambers	5.00pm
19 January 2021	Mansfield Shire Council Chambers	5.00pm
16 February 2021	Outlying Community location: Jamieson	5.00pm
16 March 2021	Mansfield Shire Council Chambers	5.00pm
20 April 2021	Mansfield Shire Council Chambers	5.00pm
18 May 2021	Outlying Community location: Tolmie	5.00pm
22 June 2021	Mansfield Shire Council Chambers	5.00pm
20 July 2021	Mansfield Shire Council Chambers	5.00pm
17 August 2021	Outlying Community location: Barjarg	5.00pm
21 September 2021	Mansfield Shire Council Chambers	5.00pm
19 October 2021	Mansfield Shire Council Chambers	5.00pm
16 November 2021	Outlying Community location: Merrijig	5.00pm



10. CHRISTMAS / NEW YEAR OFFICE CLOSURE

റ്റ	un	cil	lors	W	eh	h/	Ra	hie:
vu	ull		1013		C U	w	110	vic.

THAT COUNCIL:

- 1. closes its offices and works depot each year for the period between Christmas and New Year from 2.00pm Christmas eve and reopen on the first business day after 1 January.
- 2. each year in advance of Christmas, places advertisements in the local media, on Council's website and Facebook page advising the public of the Christmas break closure indicating service delivery and emergency response arrangements during the Christmas/New Year period.

Carried

11. SUCH OTHER BUSINESS ADMITTED BY THE UNANIMOUS RESOLUTION OF THE COUNCIL

Nil.

12. MEETING CLOSE

There being no further business the meeting concluded at 5.21pm.

CONFIRMED this fifteenth day of December 2020

Mayor	